MVHRA President

Joyce Whitaker , SHRM-CP
Joanie Krein

MVHRA President's Message

Welcome to Miami Valley Human Resources Association.

I am excited about the future of the Miami Valley Human Resources Association.  We have a lot to be proud of.  Over the last few years, we’ve launched innovative programming and offered expanded benefits for our members including the HR Communities, the Mentoring Program, the Veterans Job Fair, and the Rebranding of our logo and website.  We’ve formed partnerships with local organizations such as the Dayton Chamber of Commerce, Technology First, the HR Collaborative, and Clothes That Work.  These initiatives are making an impact on our community and in our workplaces.  Because of these efforts, our chapter has been awarded the SHRM Excel Platinum Award and the Pinnacle Award.  That’s a big deal!  I commend you all for your efforts to make our chapter a source of valuable resources, networking opportunities, and inspiration for HR professionals.  

 In the coming months, we will focus on strengthening our affiliation with SHRM, the Society for Human Resource Professionals.  This means offering more resources and valuable information to our chapter members.  SHRM resources include professional development opportunities, exclusive articles, research reports, HR tools and templates, legal and compliance guidance, and opportunities to advance your career and expand your network.

I joined MVHRA in 2016 to advance my career and network with HR professionals such as yourselves.  It’s been a rewarding experience as a chapter and board member.  In 2019, our chapter offered a scholarship for members interested in taking a SHRM certification exam.  I was fortunate to win the scholarship, take the prep course at Wright State University, and pass the SHRM-SCP exam.  I’ve been a SHRM member since 2019.  This chapter has enabled me to form new friendships, find personal and professional mentors, created learning opportunities, and propelled my career.  I couldn’t be prouder and more excited for the future of this chapter and look forward to its continued success with our talented and dedicated chapter members.

Joanie Krein

President 2024/2025